Off-limits Asian Condiments

 

 

 

 

 

 

Asian cuisine is rich in condiments, many of which contain gluten but which ones exactly? Below you can find a list of the condiments that usually contain gluten (specifically wheat) and that cannot be eaten on a gluten-free diet.

  • Soy sauce (including kecap manis Indonesian sweet soy sauce)
  • Honey soy sauce
  • Dark soy sauce
  • Oyster sauce
  • Plum sauce
  • Hoisin
  • Shaoxing rice wine  
  • Bean sauce
  • Black bean sauce 
  • Red bean paste
  • Mirin
  • Instant dashi powder
  • Wasabi paste
  • Korean red pepper paste (gochuchang)

 

Please note that fish sauce and miso are normally gluten-free however it is always best to check the ingredients before consumption.

 

 

Photo from here

 

Keen on learning more?

Contact us: contact @ gluten-freechina.com

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmail